Hi All!!!

Here we are again, this month with a location themed challenge. I have found this one to be exceptionally difficult for some reason. Not the actual making of the soap but coming up with the idea for the soap. I have lived in 2 places in my whole entire life, Hartlepool in England and Malaga area in Spain. I wanted my soap to reflect the area where I live not the Country so I have been going backwards and forwards between my place of birth and the town I now call home. In my head, I need to know where I am going and as soon as the challenge has been set, I know exactly what I am going to do, this one has me undecided and I am flummoxed lol

Now I could tell the tale of the monkey hanging. During the Napoleonic war a French ship was wrecked off the coast of Hartlepool. The only survivor was a monkey dressed in a French uniform. On finding the monkey, the Hartlepudlian locals held a trial on the beach. As they had never seen a monkey nor a Frenchman and obviously he could not answer their questions, they concluded that he was a French Spy and decided to sentence him to death by hanging. Hence the name as we are known from Hartlepool, Monkey Hangers. The local football club has a mascot known as H’Angus the monkey. One wearer of the monkey suit became the mayor, Stuart Drummond, but was forbidden to wear the suit in office. With this in mind, I thought, “I cannot put that idea into soap!” so decided on my other plan “Malaga” which is now where I live.

There is 2 famous men born in Malaga. Antonio Banderas the actor and Pablo Picasso the artist. As much as I like Antonio, I could not come up with a plan for my soap other than Armand the vampire or Zoro,  sooooo…. it shall be one of the paintings by Pablo Picasso that has given me inspiration for my location soap. Phew!! that only took me 2 weeks to come up with and we are now 2 days before link up and I am just making my soap.

IMG_9359

This is my inspiration. Picasso and his cubism art. Now putting something into soap like this will be no easy fete, but I like a challenge so off we go.

First I got some offcuts of some soaps I have previously made, squared them off so they fit together, then drew a guitar so that I could cut around the soaps to make the shape of the instrument. This would be my embed for the top.

 IMG_9353

I changed the top part to this one which I liked better 🙂

I prepared my mould to make different sections with cardboard. This was quite difficult to keep them all in place, where I wanted them. I also wrote where I wanted to put my colors so that I didn’t end up with 2 of the same together.

IMG_9362

IMG_9367.JPG

Right after pouring and removing the card. I now had to embed my guitar which was like a jigsaw puzzle.

IMG_9369.jpg

I put it off to sleep for 24 hours and when I took it out, it had ash on top so I cut into bars and planed the top. It was still a little soft but I managed to trim it.

IMG_9384.jpg

IMG_9381

IMG_9385.jpg

The finished soap! It took me a while to get there but I finally made it. A little late and pushed for time but better late, than never.

This challenge actually showed me that whatever you want to create in soap, it is possible. I wanted to do Picasso art from the beginning but thought it was just too hard. Like any woman, I ended up back at the first shop, lol.

I love my life in Spain and so glad I got to recreate a small part of Picasso art. My art is my soap!

Thanks again Amy for another great challenge.

As always, Love from Spain.

Carolyn x

